EDYC Regatta Report 27 Aug 22

The final race of the Strangford Lough Regatta Series 2022 was held last Saturday 27th Aug at East Down Yacht Club’s Holme Bay sailing area in the South of Strangford Lough.

Some 70 plus boats took part and although the weather forecast was for virtually no wind a steady breeze stayed throughout the day which allowed for some competitive racing.

The regatta featured competitors ranging from 14 to 90 years of age from around the lough. 

There were some close starts including the Rivers and Glens from SLYC and a great turnout for a revitalised class of Leisure 17s with ten boats competing in that class. The Hunter Impala’s fleet made a fine sight with spinnakers flying as they made their way up the lough to Mark 9.

There was also a good turnout in the Large Dinghy/ Wayfarer class with 11 boats jockeying for position. Lawrence Denyer and Jamie from EDYC was victorious in his Wayfarer for the second year in a row.

EDYC was buzzing after the racing with many crews coming ashore for hospitality, sandwiches and buns.  Before prizegiving everyone was entertained by Bangor Ukes.

Club Vice commodore Keith Carr presented the prizes and he and Keith Maxwell thanked everyone, both on and off the water, for making the event a success.

After prizegiving, a well attended BBQ was held with catering was provided by local butcher Alfie Murray.

The evening entertainment was rounded off with guitarist/ singer Kyle John Suckling. 

Results follow – listing the first 3 in each class – photos – see here link


1st          Go To Red                Peter Holden SLYC

2nd         Le Basculer              Mike Spence  KYC

3rd          Lion                          John Dixon   EDYC


1st          Maverick                                 John Patterson        EDYC

2nd         Mipaal                                     Stephen   Lynn         EDYC      

3rd         Alcyone                                   P Thompson & M Watson EDYC


1st          Midnight Express                    Scott Hagan            SLYC       

2nd         Galeforce                                J Curran                   PSC

3rd         Flashpoint                               James Murray         PSC

Flying Fifteen

1st          Fer Fox Sake                            H Baker & P Chamberlain       SLYC


1st          Meltemi                                  Jack Kennedy                          SLYC

2nd         Scallywag                                David Courtney                        EDYC

3rd         Triad                                        Robert Darnley                        SLYC


1st          Dark and Scary                      Stephen Andrews                   SLYC

2nd         L’eau Life                                Kyle Baxter                            EDYC

3rd         Nik Nak                                   Trevor Hooks                          KYC   


1st          Laragh                                    Kenny & Sonia Smyth             SLYC      

2nd         Uladh                                      Peter Burrows                         SLYC

3rd           Gweebarra                            Cunningham, Marten & Brooks  SLYC


1st          Glenoe                    J Gilmore                                                SLYC

2nd         Glen Orchy              Phil & Jenny Martin                                  SLYC

3rd         Glen Lark                 Richard Aiken                                          SLYC


1st          Little Boat               Matthew Patterson                EDYC

2nd         Avalon                    David Moore                           KSC

Large Dinghy/ Wayfarer < 1134 & under

1st          Swifter                    Lawrence Denyer                    EDYC

2nd         Majo

3rd         Hart Beat                Gordon Jess                            EDYC

Leisure 17

1st          Minstrel                  Roy Edwards                           EDYC

2nd         Yogi                         David Hinds                           EDYC

3rd         Heidi Q                    Terry Ingles                             EDYC

Small Dinghy >1135 & over

1st          202052                    Sam Kelly                                EDYC


1st          46718                        Caitlyn                       SSC

2nd       4654                          Gloria McKinnon

Strangford Lough Youth Series

This year’s final leg of the event was hosted at EDYC. With over 30 young sailors lining up on the start for a great days sailing. In fair conditions RO Keith Maxwell delivered 3 challenging races. The final results meant it would be close between EDYC and KYC. But under the watchful eye of the Results Officer Angela Gilmore it would be the youth of East Down Yacht Club who won the series for 2022. Everyone agreed it was a perfect ending to a wonderful weekend.

Comments are closed.